top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShemarr Henry

Thinking about investing ? Take a trip to the stock market.

Updated: May 19, 2018

Thinking that you need a job or wealthy parents to start making investments while in college is a myth! Perhaps, traveling to the Jamaica Stock Exchange may open your eyes to the world of opportunity that awaits you.


My entrepreneurship class went on what would dare to call the coolest class trip ever! Which other lecturer carries you to the stock market for your own personal benefits?. I'd think not many.


While there we learned that more than 85% of Jamaica's largest companies were able to grow because they were apart of the stock market. As young entrepreneurs, it also opened our eyes to the countless possibilities we have to make it big with our startup companies. On the other hand for the few of us without companies, our inspiring host Ms. Charlene Steer encouraged us to start making personal investments with the little cash we have.


“We have to become wealth thinking persons, not just for you but for generations to come.”

Luckily, in my second year of University I entered the Stock Market. Let me share my journey with you.


How it all started

I visited the Young Investors Club on campus one Thursday, where the guest speaker was visiting from the Jamaica stock Exchange. After he explored the benefits of entering the market and highlighted that all you need to enter was $10,000.00. I devised a plan to save. That same day I walked over to Jamaica National Bank and joined their Partna Plan. This saving plan allows you to save $2,000.00 or more weekly or fortnightly for a period of 24/48/96 weeks. However, I participated for 48 weeks as such, at the end of this period I had $96,000. Imagine taking $1000.00 from your lunch money each week and by summer you have $96,000.00! Isn't that amazing?. I used $50,000.00 from this money and made my first investment. I have been going back since.The returns are remarkable.


How to get to the Jamaica Stock Exchange


If your travelling by Route Taxi it should cost you $200 round trip. Let the driver know you want to go to the Jamaica Stock Exchange or tell him your going by Water front. To get back, you will have to walk to the popular "big tree" area to get a taxi to Papine, Portmore or Half Way Tree.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page